Forest path at sunset

Enchanted forest

Photo of Gloria, a Parks Canada staff member.

I love Obadjiwan–Fort Témiscamingue National Historic Site. The enchanted forest trail is full of discoveries: the shape of the trees, the cemetery, the viewpoints and the tranquil atmosphere present throughout the trail.

Gloria | Administrative Assistant

Historic landscape

Default user avatar

My first job at Parks Canada in 1990! What inspires me at the Battle of the Restigouche National Historic Site is the beauty and calm of the landscape with its mountains reflected in the river. I like to imagine the vessels of the French and British fleets that sailed up the Baie des Chaleurs to the Restigouche.

Hélène | Interpretation Coordinator

Colorful ribbons on a  blast furnace.

Touch of poetry

Default user avatar

My hidden gem is the poetry participation project at the top of the upper forge chimney at the Forges du Saint-Maurice National Historic Site. It helps the public form personal ties with the site and connects remains from the past to words of the present.

Isabelle | Former Visitor Experience Team Leader

Penouille Taiga

Default user avatar

A special type of vegetation grows on the Penouille sand spit in Forillon National Park. There you will find a barren boreal forest (called a taiga) that is a remarkable occurrence for this low altitude. It is a bit like stepping into the Great North but you are only a few steps away from the town of Gaspé.

Émilie | Former Public Relations and Communications Officer

Impressive lock

Default user avatar

Every time I see a lock in operation at the Carillon Canal National Historic Site, I’m impressed. I never get tired of seeing the boats emerge from the 20-metre deep ditch or seeing them descend in this enclosed space. What’s more, it’s free!

Suzie | Public Relations Officer

Lazaretto graffiti

Default user avatar

Serving as a hospital, the Lazaretto is one of the oldest buildings at the Grosse-Île and the Irish Memorial National Historic Site. Several sick immigrants left various forms of graffiti, marking their passage here. I find that it makes the site that much more authentic and poignant.

Géraldine | Project Coordinator

#Imagineacountry

Default user avatar

I adore the interactive new exhibit at the Sir George-Étienne Cartier National Historic Site. The idea of suggesting that everyone Imagine a country is brilliant! It’s a unifying element regardless of a person's origin, culture or religion. It’s very inspiring to read the dreams of other visitors, several of which are truly touching.

Nathalie |Former Promotion Officer

Two cyclists with trailers on a path by the sea.

Du Banc Trail

Photo of Émilie, a Parks Canada staff member.

The new Du Banc Trail at Forillon National Park has everything for those who love short hikes or bike rides. The trail follows the seashore, with magnificent cliffs and land’s end as the backdrop. I love admiring the beach and the Cap-des-Rosiers lighthouse from the observation tower overlooking the salt marsh. I always make sure to have a family picnic at the rest stop!

Émilie | Product Development Officer

Monoliths that look like a castle on a pebble beach.

Grande-Île

Photo of Geneviève, a Parks Canada staff member.

I’ll never get over the beauty of Grande Île at Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve! I love the different groups of naturally sculpted monoliths; walking around the “Chateau” and spotting animal silhouettes at the “Zoo.” It’s a great place to camp and hike too; the island’s landscape is breathtaking!

Geneviève | Promotion Officer

Aerial view of Lachine Canal in downtown.

Lunch by the locks

Photo of Liam, a Parks Canada staff member.

Being steps away from Old Montreal has its benefits! On a beautiful summer day, I love walking from the office down to the Old Port Locks for lunch. Whether I packed a lunch or picked something up from one of the many restaurants nearby, a picnic along the Lachine Canal is a summertime must! Nothing beats good food, great views and excellent weather!

Liam | Promotion and Events Officer

A guide and a family in front of a model.

Scale model

Default user avatar

My favourite place at the Battle of Châteauguay is the belvedere and scale model! With a great view of the battlefield, you can easily imagine being a Canadian militiaman defending the banks of the Châteauguay River. It’s always fun to retell the history of this little-known battle and watch visitors react in surprise!

Évalie | Interpreter

A boat in a lock on the Chambly Canal.

Band of boats

Photo of Patrice, a Parks Canada staff member.

The three locks in the heart of Old Chambly offer a one-of-a-kind show in Quebec. Whether you’re a boat enthusiast or not, it is always impressive watching the boats go through the Chambly Canal. Seeing the water shoot out of the valves and fill the lock like a fountain is a fascinating sight ... AND it’s free!

Patrice | Internet and New Media Officer

Sentier forestier dans la lumière d’un coucher de soleil.

Forêt enchantée

Photo de Gloria, membre du personnel de Parcs Canada.

J’aime le lieu historique national d’Obadjiwan–Fort-Témiscamingue. Le sentier de la forêt enchantée est plein de découvertes : la forme des arbres, le cimetière, les points de vue et une atmosphère de tranquillité qui est présente tout le long du parcours.

Gloria | Adjointe administrative

Paysage historique

Avatar par défaut

Mon premier emploi à Parcs Canada en 1990! Ce qui m’inspire au lieu historique national de la Bataille-de-la-Ristigouche, c’est la beauté et le calme du paysage dont les montagnes qui miroitent sur la rivière. J’aime imaginer les vaisseaux des flottes françaises et britanniques qui ont navigué dans la baie des Chaleurs jusqu’à la Ristigouche.

Hélène | Coordonnatrice de l’interprétation

Des rubans colorés sur la structure du haut fourneau.

Touche de poésie

Avatar par défaut

Mon coup de coeur va au projet de participation poétique au sommet de la cheminée du haut fourneau du lieu historique national des Forges-du-Saint-Maurice. Il encourage les liens personnels entre le site et le public, entre les traces du passé et les mots d’aujourd’hui.

Isabelle | Ancienne chef d’équipe de l’expérience du visiteur

Taïga de penouille

Avatar par défaut

Une végétation particulière pousse sur la flèche de sable de Penouille dans le parc national Forillon. On y trouve une forêt boréale dénudée (taïga), ce qui est remarquable à si faible altitude. Bien que je sois à Gaspé, j’ai l’impression de faire un voyage dans le grand nord à chaque fois!

Émilie | Ancienne agente de relations publiques

Écluse impressionnante

Avatar par défaut

Chaque fois que je suis témoin d’un éclusage au lieu historique national du Canal-de-Carillon, je suis impressionnée. Voir les bateaux émerger de la fosse profonde de 20 mètres ou encore les regarder descendre dans cet espace clos, c’est un spectacle dont je ne me lasse pas, et en plus c’est gratuit!

Suzie | Agente de relations publiques

Graffitis dans le Lazaret

Avatar par défaut

Servant d’hôpital, le lazaret est l’un des plus vieux bâtiments du lieu historique national de la Grosse-Île-et-le-Mémorial-des-Irlandais. Plusieurs immigrants malades ont laissé des graffitis comme traces de leur passage. Je trouve que ça rend le lieu très authentique et poignant.

Géraldine | Coordonnatrice de projet

#Rêverunpays

Avatar par défaut

J’adore l’interactivité présentée dans la nouvelle exposition du lieu historique national de Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier. L’idée de proposer à tous de Rêver un pays est géniale! C’est un élément rassembleur peu importe la provenance des gens, la culture et la religion. C’est très inspirant de lire les rêves des autres visiteurs, plusieurs sont même vraiment touchants.

Nathalie | Ancienne agente de promotion

Deux cyclistes avec des remorques sur un sentier en bordure de la mer.

Sentier du Banc

Photo d’Émilie, membre du personnel de Parcs Canada.

Le nouveau sentier du Banc au parc national Forillon a tout pour plaire aux amateurs de courtes randonnées à pied ou à vélo. Ce parcours longe la mer avec les majestueuses falaises du bout du monde en arrière-plan. J’aime contempler le phare de Cap-des-Rosiers et la plage à partir de la tour d’observation qui surplombe le marais salé et profiter d’un pique-nique à la halte avec ma petite famille.

Émilie | Agente de développement de produits

Des monolithes qui ressemblent à un château sur une plage de galets

La Grande Île

Photo de Geneviève, membre du personnel de Parcs Canada.

Je ne m’habituerai jamais à la beauté de la Grande Île dans la réserve de parc national de l’Archipel-de-MinganJ’adore me promener autour du « Château » et deviner les formes d’animaux sculptées naturellement dans le secteur du « Zoo ». J’aime y faire du camping et de la randonnée pour profiter des paysages tout simplement saisissants de l’île.

Geneviève | Agente de promotion

Vue aérienne du canal de Lachine au centre-ville.

Pause-repas aux écluses

Photo de Liam, membre du personnel de Parcs Canada.

Être à deux pas du Vieux-Montréal a ses avantages! Par une belle journée d’été, j’adore me rendre à pied du bureau aux écluses du Vieux-Port pour dîner. Que j’aie mon lunch ou que je prenne quelque chose dans l’un des nombreux restaurants à proximité, un pique-nique au bord du canal de Lachine est un incontournable en été! Rien ne vaut un bon repas avec de superbes vues et une météo magnifique!

Liam | Agent de promotion et événements

Un guide et une famille devant un maquette.

La maquette

Avatar par défaut

Mon coup de coeur au lieu historique national de la Bataille-de-la-Châteauguay, c’est la maquette! Avec une vue incomparable sur le champ de bataille, il est facile de s’imaginer à la place des miliciens canadiens protégeant les rives de la rivière Châteauguay. J’adore présenter l’histoire et voir le sourire d’étonnement sur le visage des visiteurs. Selon moi, c’est un élément clé de notre patrimoine à protéger et à transmettre.

Évalie | Guide interprète

Un bateau dans une écluse du canal de Chambly.

Bal de bateaux

Photo de Patrice, membre du personnel de Parcs Canada.

Au coeur du Vieux-Chambly, les trois écluses en escalier offrent un spectacle unique au Québec. Que l’on soit amateur de bateaux ou pas, il est toujours impressionnant d’assister au bal des bateaux qui entrent et sortent du canal de Chambly. Voir l’eau jaillir des vannes et remplir l’écluse, telle une fontaine, est un spectacle fascinant... et gratuit!

Patrice | Agent contenu internet et nouveaux médias