Ron Hallman 
Mr. Ron Hallman

I am truly elated to be returning to Parks Canada as President & Chief Executive Officer. Parks Canada has long held a special place in my heart, beginning back when I was a ministerial exempt staff member during the development and passage of the Canada National Parks Act (2000). It was an experience that so captured my imagination that I joined the Public Service in 2002 and then joined the Agency as Chief of Staff to the CEO (2003-2006) before accepting roles as Executive Director of the Mountain Parks (2006-2009) and Vice President of Protected Areas Establishment and Conservation (2009-2011).

Since my departure in 2011, much of the work I’ve done in my roles as Senior ADM, Regional Operations at Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (2011-2013) and as President of the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency (2013-2019) has echoed key aspects of Parks Canada’s work, including navigating the intersection of the environment and the economy, engaging the public and working in partnership with Indigenous groups -- all within the context of science, evidence and Indigenous knowledge.

Most recently, a large portion of my role at CEAA involved supporting the Minister of Environment and Climate Change in developing the Impact Assessment Act, which came into force on August 28, 2019 and creates a new approach to major project assessments in Canada and creates the new Impact Assessment Agency of Canada (replacing CEAA). Going forward, federal impact assessments will look at both positive and negative environmental, economic, social, and health impacts of potential projects and the new Impact Assessment Agency of Canada will lead all reviews for designated projects.

Over the years, I have been closely following the work of the Agency. It is inspiring to see how much progress has been realized to increase the system of protected areas such as the creation of Canada’s first national urban park, Rouge National Urban Park, and several other new national parks, marine conservation areas, and historic sites. Important partnerships have been fostered and nurtured with Indigenous partners though the creation of Akami-Uapishkᵁ-KakKasuak-Mealy Mountains National Park Reserve, the Wrecks of HMS Erebus and HMS Terror National Historic Site, and most recently, Thaidene Nëné National Park Reserve, among others, several of which I was involved with, in various capacities, during my previous time at the Agency. I am also pleased that admission to all Parks Canada places is now free for youth aged 17 and under. This, in addition to the exciting visitor experiences offered to the over 24 million annual visitors, allows the Agency to share this network of special places with Canadians and visitors from around the world while ensuring the protection of ecological integrity.

It is an exciting time for the Agency and there will no doubt be many more challenges and achievements on the horizon and I am glad to be back with the Agency. I know the Parks Canada team to be exceptionally dedicated and committed to our important mandate of protecting and presenting natural and cultural heritage places from coast to coast to coast.

My best regards,

Ron Hallman
President & Chief Executive Officer Parks Canada Agency


Ron Hallman has been appointed as Chief Executive Officer of Parks Canada, effective August 28, 2019.

Details on the announcement can be found on the Prime Minister's website.

Ron Hallman 
M. Ron Hallman

Je suis vraiment heureux de revenir à Parcs Canada en tant que président et directeur général de l’Agence. Parcs Canada occupe depuis longtemps une place spéciale dans mon cœur, depuis l’époque où j’étais un membre du personnel exclu du ministre pendant l’élaboration et l’adoption de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada (2000). Ce fut une expérience qui a tellement marqué mon imagination que je me suis joins à la fonction publique en 2002 et ensuite à l’Agence en tant que chef de cabinet du DGA (2003-2006) avant d’accepter les rôles de directeur administratif des parcs des montagnes (2006-2009) et de vice-président de l’établissement et de la conservation des aires protégées (2009-2011). 

Depuis mon départ en 2011, une grande partie du travail que j’ai accompli dans le cadre de mes postes de sous-ministre adjoint principal, Opérations régionales à Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (2011-2013) et en tant que président de l’Agence canadienne d’évaluation environnementale (2013-2019) a fait écho à des aspects clés du travail de Parcs Canada, notamment composer avec le point de rencontre de l’environnement et de l’économie, favoriser la participation du public et travailler en partenariat avec des groupes autochtones – le tout dans un contexte de sciences, de preuves et de savoir autochtone. 

Plus récemment, une partie importante de mon rôle à l’ACEE consistait à soutenir la ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique dans le cadre de l’élaboration de la Loi sur l’évaluation de l’impact, laquelle est entrée en vigueur le 28 août 2019 et établit une nouvelle approche en matière d’évaluation de projets majeurs au Canada et crée la nouvelle Agence d’évaluation d’impact du Canada (qui remplace l’ACEE). À l’avenir, les évaluations d’impact fédérales se pencheront sur les impacts environnementaux, économiques, sociaux et de santé positifs et négatifs de projets potentiels et la nouvelle Agence d’évaluation d’impact du Canada dirigera tous les examens pour les projets désignés.

Au fil des ans, j’ai suivi de près les travaux de l’Agence. Il est inspirant de constater les progrès accomplis pour agrandir le réseau des aires protégées comme la création du premier parc urbain national du Canada, le parc urbain national de la Rouge, et de plusieurs autres parcs nationaux, aires marines nationales de conservation et lieux historiques nationaux. D’importants partenariats ont été tissés et renforcés avec des partenaires autochtones grâce, entre autres, à la création de la réserve de parc national Akami-Uapishkᵁ - KakKasuak - Monts Mealy, du lieu historique national des Épaves-du-HMS Erebus-et-du-HMS Terror et, plus récemment, de la réserve de parc national Thaidene Nëné. Plusieurs sont des partenariats auxquels j’ai contribué, à divers titres, pendant mon passage précédent à l’Agence. Je suis également heureux que l’entrée aux sites de Parcs Canada soit maintenant gratuite pour les jeunes de 17 ans et moins. Cela, en plus des nombreuses expériences de visite intéressantes offertes aux plus de 24 millions de visiteurs annuels, permet à l’Agence de partager ce réseau d’endroits uniques avec les Canadiens et Canadiennes et les visiteurs de partout dans le monde tout en assurant la protection de l’intégrité écologique.

C’est une période stimulante pour l’Agence et il ne fait aucun doute que plusieurs autres défis et réalisations sont à venir et j’ai hâte aux prochaines semaines et aux prochains mois. Je sais que l’équipe Parcs Canada est exceptionnellement dévouée et dédiée à notre important mandat de protection et de mise en valeur de sites patrimoniaux naturels et culturels d’un océan à l’autre.

Meilleures salutations, 

Ron Hallman
Président et directeur général de l’Agence
Agence Parcs Canada

 


Ron Hallman a été nommé au poste de Directeur général de l’agence Parcs Canada et ce, à compter du 28 août, 2019.

Pour plus de détails sur cette annonce, veuillez consulter le site du Premier ministre.